SACNAS Announces 2012 Chapter Awards to be Presented at National Conference in Seattle, WA

Friday, Sep 14, 2012


SACNAS is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2012 Chapter Awards, which will be presented at the national conference in Seattle, WA in October. A total of 16 awards will be given, in two categories: 3 Chapter of the Year Awards, and 13 Outstanding Chapter Role Model Awards.

See below for the full list of award recipients by institution and type of award.

SACNAS’ Chapter Committee selects award recipients through a lengthy and thorough evaluation process. Chapter annual reports are reviewed and scored in addition to the evaluation of the advisor’s letter summarizing the highlights of a Chapter’s activities and accomplishments during the preceding academic year. The committee discusses numerous aspects of the submittals, including strengths and weaknesses, nature of activities, and implementation of best practices.

Awards in both categories recognize and showcase outstanding chapter programs or activities, and provide an opportunity for other chapters to see what can be done at the chapter level. SACNAS Chapter Committee chair and member of the SACNAS Board of Directors, Dr. Nancy Hurtado-Ziola said, “The Committee is very proud of its awardees and their accomplishments which led to their receiving these awards. We are delighted to showcase the talent and energy at the chapter level, and anticipate that other chapters will gather some good ideas for their own programs from the award winners.”

The Chapter Role Model Awards will be presented at the Chapter Recognition Ceremony on Friday, October 12 from 8:00 pm-9:30 pm; the Chapter of the Year Awards will be presented on Saturday, October 13, at the SACNAS Awards Ceremony following the closing dinner and keynote address.

2012 SACNAS Chapter Awards

2012 SACNAS Chapters of the Year

San Jose City College
Community College Chapter of the Year

University of California, Los Angeles
Undergraduate Chapter of the Year

University of Washington
Graduate Chapter of the Year

2012 SACNAS Role Model Awards

Skyline College
Outstanding New Chapter

Allan Hancock College
Outstanding Service to the Community

Indiana University
Outstanding Chapter Renewal

North Carolina State University
Outstanding Recruitment Efforts

University of California, Berkeley
Outstanding Contribution to the SACNAS Mission
(Contributions made to the 2011 National Conference)

University of California, Davis
Outstanding Community College Outreach

University of California, Santa Barbara
Outstanding Long-Term Sustainability

University of California, Santa Cruz
Outstanding Pre-College Outreach

Texas Tech University
Outstanding Professional Development Series

University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Outstanding Regional Leadership

Colorado State University
Outstanding Native American Member Outreach

Purdue University
Outstanding Leadership Role on Campus

DePaul University
Most Improved Chapter

Related Resources

SACNAS Chapters: Building a Community of Scientists

More about SACNAS Chapters

List of current SACNAS Chapters