Honoring Chapter Excellence: 2013 Chapter Awards

Wednesday, Sep 4, 2013

In 2013 the SACNAS chapter program experienced astronomical growth, shooting from 60 chapters to over 90 nationwide. SACNAS779 chapters represent a vibrant national network of talent, energy, community, and passion to develop the next generation of diverse scientists.

Throughout the year, chapters have developed rich programming on their campuses focusing on networking, professional development, scientific engagement, and community service. Every year at the SACNAS National Conference, we honor the chapters and their work to create a year-round SACNAS presence on their campuses. In particular, we honor overall excellence with our Chapter of the Year Awards and gratitude and recognition through our Outstanding Chapter Role Model Awards.

2013 Chapter Awards Announced

SACNAS is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013 Chapter Awards, which will be presented at the 2013 SACNAS National Conference in San Antonio, Texas, October 3 – 6, 2013. A total of 12 will be given, in three categories: one distinguished chapter award, three Chapter of the Year Awards, and 8 Outstanding Chapter Role Model Awards.

See below for the full list of award recipients by institution and type of award.

Selection Process

SACNAS’ Chapter Committee selects award recipients through a lengthy and thorough evaluation process. Chapter annual reports are reviewed and scored in addition to the evaluation of the advisor’s letter summarizing the highlights of a Chapter’s activities and accomplishments during the preceding academic year. The committee discusses numerous aspects of the submittals, including strengths and weaknesses, nature of activities, and implementation of best practices.

Showcasing Outstanding Chapter Programs

Awards recognize and showcase outstanding chapter programs or activities, and provide an opportunity for other chapters to see what can be done at the chapter level.

SACNAS Chapter Committee chair and member of the SACNAS Board of Directors, Dr. Nancy Hurtado-Ziola said, “The Committee is very proud of its awardees and their accomplishments which led to their receiving these awards. We are delighted to showcase the talent and energy at the chapter level, and anticipate that other chapters will gather some good ideas for their own programs from the award winners.”

The Chapter Role Model Awards will be presented at the Chapter Recognition Ceremony on Thursday, October 3 from 8:30 pm-10:00 pm; the Distinguished Chapter and Chapter of the Year Awards will be presented on Saturday, October 5, at the SACNAS Awards Ceremony following the closing dinner and keynote address.

2013 SACNAS Chapter Awards

Distinguished Chapter Award

University of Washington

Chapter of the Year Awards

San Jose City College
Community College Chapter of the Year

DePaul University
Undergraduate Chapter of the Year

Indiana University
Graduate Chapter of the Year

Role Model Awards

Brown University
Outstanding New Chapter

Grinnell College
Outstanding New Chapter

San Jose State University
Outstanding Native American Outreach

University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Outstanding Community Service

Northeastern Illinois University
Outstanding Campus Involvement and Partnerships

Texas Tech University
Outstanding Professional Development

University of California, Los Angeles
Outstanding Fundraising Initiative

University of California, Santa Barbara
Outstanding Governance

Related Resources

SACNAS Chapters: Building a Community of Scientists

More about SACNAS Chapters

List of current SACNAS Chapters